Without further delay…

So it’s been more than a year since I began this blog, and I’m only now getting around to posting a second entry. Isn’t that the way the world spins most of the time? We have the best intentions and yet somehow never get around to doing the things we claim mean so much to us. There are bills to be paid, kids to keep up with, housework to be done, errands to run and so much more.

Somewhere in the midst of life’s chaos we lose perspective on who we are and what we truly want. We spend our days grinding away at a job that is meaningless to us but will be the thing that takes up so much precious time in the span of our life. Isn’t your job the thing you do to get the money you need to do the things you want to do and obtain the things you require to live when you’re not at work? We spend so much time fussing over work we forget that there are far more important things in the world than the perfect PowerPoint presentation, a pie-charted, highlighted budget spreadsheet or one more sale before month’s close.

That is, of course, the thing that brings me to this blog. I do not take enough time to slow down and remember the important things in life and make sure the people around me understand the depth of their importance. These blogs are my chance to thank people, to say, “job well done” or maybe just to say, “hello” to someone with whom I long ago lost contact.

Is this a maudlin waste of time? Perhaps. Am I a sentimental fool? Probably. But I have been to too many funerals in the last few years to not understand that time on Earth is precious and is gone far before we’re ready. Whether I only take one more breath or I live to be 100, it will never seem like enough time to enjoy all that this world has to offer. There will always be one more I love you or pat on the back I wish I’d given.

So here I am at this blog trying to rid myself of the if-onlys and shouldas. Welcome. Feel free to post replies offering similar commentary on the people in your life. You can never take too much time to pass out those flowers while you still have the chance.

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

