A brief pause along our journey

I suppose for those of you who do not know me, it might be nice to take a moment or two or 20 to pause and introduce myself.  So here goes. Me, Cliffs Notes style.

Graduate from college. Get a job. Start down a fast-moving career path. Receive promotions. Join organizations. Be successful. That’s all it takes, right?

At least that’s what I thought. Two masters degrees and 15 years later, I realize that isn’t what constitutes success. I am successful when I turn the perfect phrase, when I help my girls learn something, when I create a new recipe that makes my husband smile, or when I go to bed at night feeling like I did something good that day.

Am I becoming a rose-colored-glasses wearing tree hugger? Maybe. But that’s okay. I’m a hundred times happier than I’ve ever been, and that’s what matters.

I am successful.

So, with that said, I guess you want to know about the letters behind my name and all that other official stuff. I graduated from Louisiana Tech University with a B.A. (major in journalism, minor in sociology) and moved to Tyler, Tx., to work for the East Texas Medical Center Regional Healthcare System where I spent the next five years busting my hind end while the system grew from five hospitals to 13.

I worked in the centralized marketing department, but we did a lot more than marketing. We were the go-to group for the proposals to take over other hospitals and win managed care contracts. We coordinated events throughout a 20,000-square-mile area, planned and executed millions of dollars in advertising and managed the largest prostate cancer screening campaign in the United States (at that time anyway). Of course, there were a million other things that passed our desks on any given day.

Cut to five years later, and I’m burned out beyond measure. I submitted my resignation and went back to Louisiana Tech to work on my masters of education. Somewhere in the previous five years, I had managed to find time to earn my masters of arts (major in journalism, double minor in speech communication and public administration), but that wasn’t where my interests lied.

I was going to become a teacher and save the world one student at a time. I actually made the comment that if I were shot in the head in the emergency room parking lot, just leave me lying there.

I wanted nothing to do with hospitals. Ever.

When I moved to Columbus, Ga., a year later, I ended up right back in healthcare marketing and was fortunate to work for St. Francis Hospital which sufficiently restored my faith in health care. Other than some substitute teaching I did between earning my M.Ed. and moving to Columbus, I have never spent a day in the classroom. And that’s okay. I’ll get around to it.

In August 2002, I moved back to Louisiana and went to work for HCA at their North Monroe Medical Center location. I was an administrative director with responsibility for being the army of one for marketing, public relations, advertising, planning and events, as well as being the administrative oversight for housekeeping, the wound care center, the Auxiliary and Senior Friends.

In early 2005, HCA decided to sell our hospital, and I now do grant development for the hospital that purchased us. Coincidentally, that hospital was once our local competitor.

Obviously, the last few years have been interesting, to say the least. Going to work for the people you fought against for so long puts a whole new spin on things. But that’s where I’m at today. Take it or leave it, that’s my life.

I think I’ll take it.

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A brief pause along our journey

  1. Erica says:

    Let us not forget the time you spent student teaching at the WO!! If it had not been for that point in your life, I would never have been blessed enough to know you and later to love you!! I think you have an amazing life, and I am so lucky to be in it. I love you Becca!!

Leave a Reply

