My knight in shining Altima

Getting off to a late start is a hard way to start what should be an easy Friday. After all, it’s FRIday, the best day of the work week, and not only that, but it was looking like this might be one of the greatest days in my win column in a long time.

1. It’s pay day.

2. One of the most awesome friends in the history of kindred souls is on her way here to spend the weekend with us.

3. Both kids were in a great mood this morning and got out the door with zero sisterly fussfests.

4. And, if all that weren’t enough, the sun is shining its blazing little heart out as if it’s trying to make up for being gone so long.

A great day, right? Maybe, but after waking up late and finding out the car wouldn’t start, I’m thinking the second half of the day is going to have to work its tail off to make amends for the first half. 

I had great plans – get a few things done at work and take the afternoon off to make sure the house is clean for our impending visit from those crazy West Virginians. Maybe drop in at the mall and spend a little money on myself (which I rarely do) if I could find a purse I liked on sale. Plan something spectacularly yummy for dinner. Deliver some Scentsy stuff.

The car battery had different plans. Cut to me talking to the hubs who was north of Monroe and headed to Crossett.

“The car won’t start. Do you know any special trick to get it started in this cold weather.”

“No. It might be the starter. It could be the battery. I’ll turn around and come home.”

“Don’t worry about it. Bubba is home if I need help. We’ll work it out. Thanks, though.”

He asked if I were sure. I was.

There was really nothing he could do by turning around and coming back all that way to do something I could do or at least do something I could do with the help of my most awesome neighbor. Bubba has a way of knowing when I need him, and as if he were cued to enter stage left, there he was standing in the yard when I got out of the car to check things out. Based on my non-car-savvy description of the problems and the sounds it made, he wondered if it might be battery trouble. We tried our battery charger to no avail for about 10 minutes, but when he hooked up his battery charger, we were soon headed down the road.

As I began to dial Randall’s number to bring him up to speed, that shiny green Altima came wheeling around the corner. Yes, he had turned around, despite my pleas that he not do so, and driven all the way back to check on us and try to help.

No, he didn’t do it because he thought I was incapable. He knows better.

No, he didn’t do it because he wanted to avoid work. He has plenty to do and wanted to get it done quickly so he could start his weekend.

And, no, he didn’t do it because he wanted thanks, praise or an attaboy star for a job well done. He already has those things on a fairly regularly basis.

My knight in his shining green Altima was hurrying around that corner because he genuinely cares. He loves me. He loves our kids. He wants to make sure our needs are met, and the thought of our having trouble in this cold weather was probably more than he could stand. Sarah has been coughing. Aubrey has been cutting two tough teeth. And even though there’s nothing physically wrong with me, I know he would’ve turned around and come back all that way just to make sure I didn’t get cold.

Yeah, he’s that awesome.

I didn’t get my purse, and I didn’t get to fluff away the morning. My house is still not clean, and dinner will probably be whatever I can throw together. It doesn’t matter. My knight was there whether I needed him or not because he thought it was the right thing to do. And you know what? Even though I didn’t need him to save us, it was nice to know he cared enough to go to the trouble. 

Randall is my knight in the shining green Altima. He is the king to the Mixon princesses, and he never lets me forget I am the queen. So what could’ve been a pouty-mcgrouchy day has turned out to be not so bad after all. Even though we were already on our way (thanks to the steadfast service of our most awesomely helpful neighbor), the knight swooped in to make sure the damsels in distress were safe.

I would say that he didn’t have to and that it seems unnecessary, but Randall would surely disagree. All he knew at that moment is that his girls needed help, and I know if any of the three of us were to so much as whisper a wish, he would spring into action and do whatever he could to make it so.

I love my husband, my protector, my knight in the shining green Altima. Thank you, Randall. Today was just one more way you’ve been saving me for a long time.

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Children, Daughters, Family, Husband, Life, Marriage, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My knight in shining Altima

  1. Misty says:

    Just reaffirms what I have said for a LONG time!!! You have the best husband ever!

Leave a Reply

