Happy birthday, “Auntsy.”

In late 2007, I landed in Randall’s life bearing five tattoos (which soon became six), two divorces, a nearly one-year-old, a harassing ex-boyfriend and enough baggage to require a sidecar. Most people would’ve looked down on me and wondered if I were just looking for a father for my daughter. Some people might’ve given me a chance, but they probably wouldn’t have welcomed me with open, accepting arms.

To be honest, I probably would’ve been a little wary of me as well.

But not Randall’s Aunt Nancy. She is Randall’s mother’s sister, and even though she didn’t know me and could’ve so easily kept me at arm’s length, she chose instead to wrap those arms around me and give me a hug. From the first time I met her, I felt like I was already part of their family. She treated me like I had always been there, and she welcomed Sarah like she was her niece. Regardless of how anyone ever treated me, I was always more concerned with how they would accept Sarah, but Nancy never once acted like Sarah was an outsider. To this day, I don’t think I’ve ever told her how much it means that she always takes time to ask Sarah how she’s doing or just make basic conversation. It means a lot to Sarah, but it probably means even more to me.

Sarah called her “Auntsy” back at Christmas, which I thought was adorable and tried to reinforce so we could make it stick. (Of course, Sarah corrected herself, but I’m still hopeful it will catch on with Aubrey.) It fills my heart with contented smiles to know that my kids have an “Auntsy” to call their own, just like I always had with my own aunts.

Today is “Auntsy’s” birthday, and I hope she had a truly, amazingly awesome day. I asked my mother-in-law Leisa what it is about Nancy that makes her so special. Of course, I already knew that she is a great mother and is close to her girls. I knew that she and her husband are still in love after all these years, which they show in little ways such as holding hands and just generally showing respect for each other. I knew she loves her parents and has a great sense of humor, a beautiful home and a respectable, faith-filled job.

That’s all gravy. I wanted the meat.

Ms. Leisa didn’t disappoint. According to her, one of the greatest things about Nancy is that “she’s MY sister and nobody else’s!” What a great thing for a sister to say. She mentioned Nancy’s stubbornness as one of her good traits. After all, stubborn doesn’t have to be a bad thing. It can mean you are fiercely loyal. It can indicate a stick-to-it personality. It can mean you are like the strong women in your family who came before you.

She also said Nancy doesn’t compromise on the standards she believes in and loves and cares deeply for her family. She’s a thoughtful person who loves to record family memories and share the love with others. She gave birth to two beautiful girls who she has helped shape into amazing women, and she is one of the most consistently calm, welcoming people I have met.

Auntsy, I hope you had a great day. Thanks for letting me and Sarah in the family and making us feel like we’d always been there. Happy, happy birthday, Aunt Nancy/friend/wife/mother/daughter/sister/mother-in-law/pretty much anything else we need her to be.

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Children, Daughters, Family, Friends, Relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy birthday, “Auntsy.”

  1. Nancy Craig says:

    Well, I do declare I’m blushing! Rebecca, you are far too kind. In my eyes (and I believe Randall would agree) you are the best thing that ever walked into his life. Ya’ll are just too cute together! I am a sucker for love stories and am proud to say that I was there in the beginning. Watching Randall at the beach checking his phone every few minutes, laughing out loud at some secret joke. He reminded me of that guy on the TV commercial that gets his messages before everyone else with that laugh.

    And Sarah…how can you “not” love that child? I love the way that her and Stephanie took up with each other. Even though we don’t get to see you guys as often as we would like, they seem to pick right back up each time like no time has passed. Jessica adores Aubrey, and I can see them forming a bond as well. That’s what I’m hoping for anyway.

    My birthday was fabulous! It started out with a phone call from Jessica after she had worked a 12 hour graveyard shift at the hospital. I am so very proud of her and the young women she has transformed into before my very eyes. Then, Stephanie took me to lunch where we gossiped and giggled for an hour. Stan come in from work around 7 p.m. (he’s been working 12 hour days, 7 days a week since the beginning of December) with one of those folded paper things that has numbers and colors on it that unfolds and has things written inside. He said that it took him and four co-workers three hours to figure it out. Inside he has written silly love notes or things like “back rub”, “dinner & a movie”. Cheesy I know, but oh so sweet. I received phone calls from Mom & my Sissy (my rock & sounding board). I even got a text from my favorite cousin in Mississippi.

    I commented on Facebook about all the “Happy Birthdays” I received yesterday that they were the icing on my cake. Well, this blog is the cherry on top! Thank you Rebecca for just being you. Much love!

  2. Rebecca says:

    OH MY! The part about Stan and his buddies putting together that little paper thing where you make different choices and ultimately lead to your “prize” is AWESOME! I hope Randall and I still do things like that when we have been together as long as you guys. :o)

Leave a Reply

