Going picturing

Sometimes Mama needs a break.

One of those days crept up on me this past week, so I decided to take a little time to go picturing before I got the girls. That’s what I call it when I grab the camera and take random pictures for no apparent reason. It’s fun. I like it. I don’t need a why or what. I only need time and a pretty enough day.

Thank you, Thursday, for being that day.

My parents far-too-generously gave me a new lens for my Canon at Christmas. I haven’t had much of a chance to tinker with it since the weather has been consistently rainy and/or cold. Thursday was pleasant and sunny, and – for once – I found myself with an hour or so that no one needed me.

What? Could this be? I had to quickly remind myself, “Don’t question it! Just drive!”

I snapped a few around the neighborhood and decided to spend the rest of my time at Roselawn checking on things before I had to go get the kiddos. Since I had my camera with me, I snapped a few while I was there. What fun! Odd to be enjoying myself in a cemetery, yes. But still fun.

There was no one to beg, clean up or remind to smile. I could take my time. If I didn’t like the shots, I could take them again without having to pose anyone or chase a toddler down to get her back in the picture. I didn’t have to take any at all if that’s what I decided.

I love taking pictures of my kids. If you’ve seen my Facebook page or been to my office, there’s no doubt about my love of capturing those beautiful angels in their moments of girliness. But there was something so amazingly cathartic about taking pictures for no particular reason and for nobody’s enjoyment but my own. I loved it, and I will be doing it again soon, even if it means taking a half day off from work to find the time. In that little bit of time, Mama was reminded that she is also Rebecca and has interests and dreams and ideas of her own.

Am I great photographer? Nope. But I enjoy it. And those quiet, non-talking-back, still, peaceful statues at Roselawn were just what I needed on a random Thursday. Maybe I’m not the greatest photographer out there, but I sure felt pretty awesome at that moment.

And I will be feeling that way again very soon.

WARNING: If you see me wandering around with my camera, either cooperatively pose or get out of the way. Mama has taken a backseat to Rebecca for a while (and if you’ve ever met Rebecca, you know you should probably just get out of the way).

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Children, Daughters, Life, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

