My happy little gray day

Ohhhh, the weather outside is frightful,
But the fire is so delightful!
And since we’ve no place to go,
Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

The weather really is frightful, but I don’t have a fire and (unfortunately!) I had to slide onto the icy roads and go to work (boo!). But despite all those things, let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

For what am I so cheery and grateful on this otherwise bleak day? Well, I’m glad you asked. Let me catch you up to speed on the internal sunshine fueling my day!

1. My husband is at home with our kids. You’re thinking, “big deal,” right? Scoff at this little bit of happiness if you will, but it means he cares enough to stay with them, to care for them and to find things for them to do while they are cooped up in the house.

Many dads would’ve tried to find a sitter or would’ve griped that they were stuck with the kids. Not my husband! Even though I know all he wanted to do this morning was go back to sleep, he instead found himself in the middle of a pile of giggling, tickling, sillified Mixon girls – and the measure of blessing that he was feeling at that moment was beaming from his face. 

*spicing up the day as I sing to myself, “What a man, what a man, what a man, what a mighty good man – yes he is!”*

2. Freelance jobs are often hard to come by for writers, but I found one yesterday that I’m quite interested in, and, hopefully, they will be equally interested in me. Nothing is certain, of course. Competition is fierce. But I am a fierce competitor, and I’m ready to draw my sharpened pencil and forge into battle.

3. Yesterday was pay day. Do I really need to say anything else?

4. I have started working on my cookbook. Yes, all the recipes will be original, and yes, there will be testing parties. I kicked it off earlier this week with a meatloaf that was summed up by my husband as, “Best. Meatloaf. EVER.” Last night’s concoction needs minor tweaking (and a creative name), but it certainly didn’t go uneaten, and I’ve just about finalized my coconut cream pie. Get your forks ready, folks! Sample time approaches!

4. My 17-month-old can recognize her colors. Yesterday, her teacher pointed to a yellow circle, and Aubrey said, “Ello!” When did this happen?! As excited as I am that my toddler is learning, the real excitement comes from knowing that she is at a wonderful school where people care about her, want to help develop her mind and are concerned about more than watching the clock and keeping the kids quiet.

It’s called Toonie Bugs Child Development Center, and if you need a new day care, you should call them at (318) 397-7300. And, if your kids aren’t going to Toonie Bugs, then, yes – you need a new school.

5. One of my beautiful, talented, awesome friends is feeling like a school girl this week. She is caught in the final minutes of “Sixteen Candles,” and her Jake has pulled up in the Porsche and waved at her in front of the church. At this point, she has to decide whether to go her own way or sit in the middle of the dining room table with the cutest boy in school.

Happy birthday, dear friend. It’s your turn to have your cake and eat it, too.

6. “American Idol” has not jumped the shark as I previously thought. In fact, if anything, it’s better than ever.

So that’s my day so far. Nothing spectacular, of course, but in the midst of this dreary weather, my rays of personal sunshine light up my heart, my face and my fifth dimension space.

Leeettt the sun shine in!
Let the sunshine, the sunshine in!
Oh, let it shine, c’mon!
Now everybody just sing along.
Let the sun shine in!
Open up your heart, and let it shine on in.
When you are lonely, let it shine on.
Got to open up your heart, and let it shine on in.
And when you feel like you’ve been mistreated
And your friends turn away,
Just open your heart, and shine it on in!

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in American Idol, Career, Children, Daughters, Family, Freelance, Friends, Husband, Marriage, Parent, Relationships, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

