Terrifically tepid Tuesday

In the grand scheme of jubilation, exhilaration and rejuvenation, today is not particularly noteworthy. However, my life is blessed and beautiful, so who needs those other things?

  1. A heavy measure of Unanswered Prayers is the main ingredient in my steaming pot of God-Knows-Better-Than-You Stew. Thankfully, the other ingredients include Hindsight and Reassurance.
  2. Dr. Caples isn’t making me wear those embarrassing rubber bands on my braces anymore during the day. When asked how much longer I have to wear the braces, he says, “We’re getting close.” Woohoo for progress!
  3. A nice man named Sylvester and his young family are now enjoying their new dining room set, which means we have a huge space in our living room where it was when we called it ours. That means we can finally rearrange our living room!
  4. Tomorrow I get to take my new car on its first road trip. Brace yourself, I-20!
  5. I just found out Academy has my treadmill in stock!
  6. My handsome, hilarious nephews Grant and Ethan turn two this month. Don’t you agree that it’s time for their parents to start planning their next set of twins?
  7. I guess now I’ll know if either my brother-in-law or sister-in-law read my blog because they will never let number six go without a response.
  8. I never understood why my parents used to say if they could’ve afforded it, they would’ve had six kids or more. I loved having just me and my brother and my parents in the house. However, now that I have kids of my own, I get it. My kids are awesome. Can you imagine if I multiplied that rockin’ awesomeness times six?
  9. Wee Ball is about to start! At the end of the season last year, I said that when the last batter had gone around the bases at the last game, I was going to home plate and spike Sarah’s pink helmet right there in the dirt to show that I was officially over the whole thing and done with it. Since Sarah was the last batter of that aforementioned last game and she fell at home plate and hurt herself, it didn’t quite seem appropriate. Now that the season is here, I am excited again! I guess it’s like labor pains – once it’s over, you look back more with fond memories than with the pain of what it took to go through it. I’m sure our little bat girl Aubrey will throw in her craziness contribution and won’t make practices and games easy, but it will at least be interesting.

And thus sums up my terrifically average Tuesday. Better than some, not as great as others. Oh well. It’s mine nonetheless. Might as well enjoy it!

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Children, Daughters, Family, Friends, Parent, Relationships, Uncategorized, Work, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Terrifically tepid Tuesday

  1. Nancy says:

    I think #6 AND #8 are great ideas! Six is a perfect number. Get busy Rebecca!!!

    • Rebecca Mixon says:

      I couldn’t fit six in the Suburban, but I could easily fit five! Tell Michael and Kara to have one more, and that’ll be five grandkids total. They can all spend time with us during summer break and remind me of why I enjoyed only having me and my brother in the house when I was growing up. It sounds like fun to have that many kids, but can you imagine?!

Leave a Reply

