The next big secret

A while back I announced I was reviving my long-forgotten blog. The decision was based on the recently popular idea that if you put your “secret” out into the Universe, it will come true. You are stating what you want and letting people in on your dream. The Universe won’t magically snap into action and deliver your fulfilled wishes, but if you let others in on your goals, you are more likely to hold yourself accountable. Aimless talking and wishing can quickly turn into satisfying goal attainment.

But then you realize there’s that first step.

It’s a toughy. Complacency is comfortable. It’s custom-made, familiar, status quo-chic. There’s no work involved. Just keep treading water. Easy enough, right? Maybe it is for some, but for others, it can be impossible.

I am not a water treader.

So here I am once again putting my “secret” out there for the world to see. I will reach this goal. I don’t know how. I don’t know when. I’ll work that out as I go. For now, the important part is that the goal is identified and locked in. (Drum roll please…)

I WILL let Scentsy change my life.

No, I won’t sit back and wait for Scentsy’s owners Heidi and Orville to personally bring me a check. That won’t happen. No one is in charge of my success but me. I am the only person who can affect my level of triumph, but I am also the main person who can block it.

The “if only,” “I can’t” and “who has the time” blockades are coming down. I can do this. I will do this. The opportunity is there, and no one is going to pick it up and run it into the finish line for me. I am going to let Scentsy change my life, and here is why:

I want to get out of debt. Without a lot of effort, I made $2,500 last year selling Scentsy, and in November, my check was $860. I had never put any real effort into my business, but getting that windfall sure got my attention. I have recruited three people to join my team, and there are probably others who are looking for an extra financial push in their lives. If I share my story about the awesome people I meet, the inspiration I get from my Scentsy business and the wonderful benefits of joining this company, maybe others will join our team and share in the unlimited potential.

If I can grow my team, I will grow my profits. By helping my team succeed, I will increase my own success by feeding off their energy and enthusiasm. That $2,500 a year could easily turn into $2,500 a month. No, that’s not unreasonable. I know a few people who make more.

I want to take my children to the beach and not have to go the cheapskate route. The kids may never remember the star rating of the hotel, the restaurants where we ate or the souvenirs we bought, but I will. Years from now when my kids are grown, I want to think back to wiggly toes buried in the sand, giggles washing up and down the beach, and quiet moments with Randall amidst all the vacation buzz.

I want to put money in savings, not for a rainy day but for all the sunny days that I want to share with my awesome husband. I don’t want to work my whole life. I only get one shot to walk this Earth. How great would it be to stroll through the later years hand-in-hand with my sweetie and know that our financial needs are met?

I want to feel good about what I do, and Scentsy gives me that. The longer I work with Scentsy, the more I realize that “Warm,” “Enliven” and “Inspire” aren’t just words on their boxes. Do you realize how many of our memories are tied to scent? Imagine dropping a cube in your warmer and jumping immediately into a memory of baking with your grandmother, mowing the grass with Dad or that awesome spring day that you met your significant other. Or maybe you smell the faint hint of the heart-melting cologne worn by that cute guy you danced with at a party once. Maybe it’s the smell of a baby’s room or a bouquet of flowers or maybe nothing you’ve smelled before but you just know you like it for some reason. Even if the scent simply covers the smell of a cat in the house or brightens the room with a decorative piece, it’s something.

And I helped make that moment happen for you. What an amazing feeling!

Scentsy has already changed my life in small ways. The big change is coming. I’m ready. Feel free to come along for the ride.

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Career, Dream, Epiphany, Finance, Money, Scentsy, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

