About Monday

No other day gets badmouthed as much as Monday. Poor Monday. It’s just trying to hold down its spot on the calendar with a little bit of dignity. It can’t help that it’s in the awkward position of being the first day back after two days of rest for weekday-working folks, which automatically makes most of those people disgruntled at the mere mention of Monday.

Admittedly, I am one of those disgruntled masses 99.9% of the time. But today I am determined to give Monday a break, so let’s run down a few reasons today is a good day.

1. I found time to blog.

2. There are no clothes that need to be washed tonight since they all got washed, dried and hung up or folded over the weekend.

3. Dinner is already cooked. Thank you, Sam’s Southern Eatery. Your gargantuan portions are bad for my diet but great for leftovers.

4. Aubrey’s cheerleader outfit is finally piecing together for Wee Ball. I can’t wait to see her prissing around in it! Games start April 12. We’re the orange-and-purple Toonie Bugs team that will be rockin’ the field at West Ouachita. Come by and check us out!

5. I had a wonderful month with Scentsy sales and will get paid the March commissions one week from today. Plus, I will be getting another sales award charm for my Scentsy bracelet. Yeah, I’m kind of a big deal. *insert don’t-you-wish-you-were-a-consultant-and-a-cool-kid-like-me smile*

6. Today starts my countdown to fabulosity. I’m “gettin’ muh har did” on Thursday and have a million and one things to talk to Penny Evans (co-owner of Roots, which I love) about. I’m not sure the couple of hours I’m going to be there will be enough to talk it all out. I adore having a stylist who is such a cool, easy-to-talk-to chic!

7. Speaking of hair, Penny cut Sarah’s hair Saturday, and it looks amazing. She got to show it off at school this morning, and I could tell how proud she was. Is it possible she was extra sassy this morning? I didn’t think she could expand her sassy capacity any further, but it sure seemed like she was trying.

8. At 3 a.m., Aubrey came lumbering down the hall with her protectors by her side –  beloved pacifier in her mouth and Woobie tucked firmly under her arm. I happened to be in the bathroom and watched her go to the door of our bedroom, presumably looking for me, and then turn and walk toward the living room. When I whispered, “Hey, baby. Are you looking for Mama,” she turned around and smiled so big she almost lost her prized paci. She ran up to me with her arms in the air, and when I picked her up, she snuggled into my neck and hugged me like she hadn’t seen me in weeks. Of course, she got a one-way ticket to our bed. Who can say, “no” to such sweetness? And if you answer, “I can,” shame on you!

9. Today I got to check out my new office and its amazingly beautiful window that looks out on a gravel parking lot and a one-way street, but oh well. At least it has a window. My current office is putty-colored walls with no window and no way to know what’s going on in the world. The sky could be raining fire or marshmallows or fried pickles for all I know. I’m totally cut off from anything other than my computer screen, which is not conducive to any amount of creativity or concern. Having a window will be like a golden ticket back to the land of the living!

Dear Monday,

I’m sorry no one likes you. You were a pretty good friend to me today. I promise not to talk bad about you for at least six more days.

For-the-most-part sincerely,
Me

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Blog, Career, Children, Daughters, Finance, Friends, Health, Life, Money, Scentsy, Uncategorized, Work, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

