The little things in Life

Some day when our girls are grown, I hope they will look back on their childhood and remember two main things:

1. My parents loved me.

2. I was blessed.

We don’t take our kids on expensive trips or buy them everything they want. They have more material possessions than many kids in this world, but they are not endlessly spoiled. They actually know how to go in a store and not come out with something new each time.

They will hopefully get to run their toes through sand one day, but it won’t be at an expensive resort. We hope to take them to Disney when they’re a little older, but it won’t be a regular thing. It will be a one-shot trip for which we will save quite a while. I would like to take them to New York, have mani/pedi afternoons with them every weekend and make sure their birthday parties are spectacular every year.

But that’s not realistic. We aren’t made of money, and even if we were, there has to be a balance between scrambling to make your kids happy and teaching them to appreciate the things they are blessed to receive.  

What we lack in funding is, hopefully, made up for in love, attention and small moments together sharing Life’s joys. We had one of those moments yesterday!

Randall took the trash out and saw a turtle in the yard. Most people would probably think, “Hhmm.  A turtle.” Randall thought, “I bet my kids would like to see this!”

We hurried to get our shoes on and get outside, and Aubrey ended up going out in her pajama shirt (which Randall’s mom will recognize as one of his shirts from when he was little). What a mismatched crew we were!

Our kids didn’t care, though. When they grow up, they will probably not remember the day we all ran into the yard to see the turtle. And even if they did, they would probably think, “Why did we care so much about a turtle?”

It wasn’t the turtle we cared about, girls. We cared about the moments we got to spend with you staring at turtles, reading bedtime stories, making personal pizzas, pulling your wagon and so much more. It’s all those small, seemingly insignificant moments that will shape who you become and how you raise your own children some day.

Turtle gawking might not be a defining moment in their lives. It probably wasn’t even the most important moment of their week or even their morning. But all those little moments added together make for happy parents who were blessed to share a moment with their daughters.

Some day they will think we are the stupidest people in the world, but for this one moment, we were important.

Have I mentioned lately how much my family blesses every breath I take?

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Children, Daughters, Family, Life, Parent, Raising children, Raising girls, Relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The little things in Life

  1. Leisa says:

    Lovely turtle! And an AWESOME family…I just wish someone could follow ya’ll around and take pictures with you ALL in it!!!

Leave a Reply

