Still here and mostly kicking

So, yeah. It’s been a while since I blogged. Sorry about that. As I’ve said before, Life has a tendency to get in the way.

I’m not even sure where to start. So many things have happened and are still going on.

Aubrey had ear problems. Sarah had a stomach bug. I had (am still trying to get over) bronchitis. We went to Conway, Ark., for a family reunion. I’m so far behind on work I may never catch up. I won Honorable Mention in a Deviantart.com “Happy Moments” contest for a picture I took of Sarah. We seriously need rain. I made some good soup a few days ago. Sarah has announced Busch’s Baked Beans are her favorite. Aubrey has learned the word “booger” and likes to not only say it but show me what it is. Randall is halfway through his summer session at the school. I have a plant I have not yet killed.

It’s just Life as usual at good ole Mixon Manor. Separately, the pieces of our recent history are fairly boring, but strung together, they are somewhat nice and random.

This blog is about those ordinary moments, but I try to make it about something more. In the category of “more,” though, I haven’t got much to add, so here are my few little scraps of different for you today.

Hope you enjoy. It’s all I’ve got.

1. Photography has become a small hobby/obsession/filter for how I see snapshots of my daily life. I am okay at it. Not as good as most but better than some.

The main thing is that I enjoy it.

Like writing, it gives me joy, even when it’s mediocre. Also like writing, if I intend to get better at it, I need to practice. Let me know if you need someone to act as a second camera at your kid’s birthday party, at a wedding, when a new baby is born or pretty much any other time. I would love to help you capture those moments so I can help capture a little more knowledge and skill.

2. Obviously, that first entry is directed at people who know me and live near me. I have a few readers from other parts of the country, and as much as I would love to use you as guinea pigs, I don’t have the time nor the money to get to where you are. Sorry!

3. Clara Holland, one of the beautiful daughters of Kyla Hanington, will shave her head on Friday.

What? Huh?! Yep.

She pledged that she would shave her head if she could raise $5,000 to support the Canadian Cancer Society, and so far she has raised $1,455. Even though she hasn’t reached her goal, she is going through with shaving her head anyway.

Can’t we all make a small donation to help make it more worthwhile for her to follow through on her pledge? This isn’t a grown person who has made a choice and is boldly seeing it through.

This is a child. A child who has a strong desire to help. A child who wants so badly to support cancer research and the quest for a cure that she will shave her head despite the fact that she didn’t reach her goal in time.

What have you done that even comes close to the commitment this child is making?

Go make a donation. Help her. She’s just a kid, and she’s making this level of commitment. Surely you can spare a few dollars if she can spare her hair.

http://cancerevents.kintera.org/clarah

4. I’ll soon be making/canning jelly and salsa again. The sauce shop isn’t open anymore, but I’ve got plenty of jars and lids and am going to put up a few things. People complain about canning and the hassle of it, and to those people, I simply say, “so don’t do it.” If you don’t get a rush out of seeing that water being to jump or hearing those lids pop as they seal, then don’t do it. There are plenty of people like me who love it and would be glad to share/sell what we have created.

I would still be running Bourre Sauce Shop if not for the inordinate amount of time I was spending with it. When I realized I had pretty much spent my whole weekend in the kitchen and missed out on what my family was doing, I stopped. I like cooking and canning, but family time wins.

So that’s pretty much my goings-on for now. Nothing particularly amazing, I know. I don’t have any oustanding words of wisdom or amazing blessings to share. The fact that I’m still here and mostly kicking is blessing enough for now.

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Blog, Children, Cooking, Daughters, Family, Health, Husband, Life, Money, Parent, Photography, Raising children, Raising girls, Uncategorized, Work, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Still here and mostly kicking

  1. Kyla says:

    love this so much

  2. Love your blog. Thanks. I came to it via fb friend Kyla Hannington. In the word’s of that s.o.b. Arnold S. ‘I’ll be back.’
    You’ve inspired me to find the notebook I write blog ideas in. Where did I put that thing. Sounds like we have the same casual approach to blogging. Once in a while I make a leap and decide I’m going to blog daily, but that leap usually finds me face down in a puddle. Ah, well, it is what it is and your blog is fun, breezy and very enjoyable. Thanks again, Val

    • Thanks for the comment. I hope you will return from time to time to share in my life’s moments and perhaps share some of your own along the way. If you revive your blog, I’d love to surf over there and check it out!

Leave a Reply

