Once upon a time…

There once was a princess named Sarah who had no king to call “Daddy.”

Princess Sarah and Queen Mommy lived happily together playing silly games, singing songs and falling asleep in each other’s arms every night.

Life for Princess Sarah was happy, but without a king, the kingdom seemed incomplete.

One day Queen Mommy used the magical powers of MySpace to reconnect with an old family friend named Randall. Princess Sarah knew right away that this man was to someday be her king.

She claimed him as her Daddy long before Queen Mommy married him in a beautiful gathering of friends and family the following year. Princess Sarah was there that day, and she rode high on her new king’s shoulders as they all three walked up the aisle together. The king had stretched his loving arms wide and embraced both Queen Mommy and Princess Sarah in a hug of love, trust and family.

But one thing was still missing. Princess Sarah wanted to be a Mixon.

She had already told the princes and princesses in her class that her name was no longer the name she had been born with and demanded she be called “Sarah ‘Micken,’ just like Mommy.” Nearly two years later, Princess Sarah’s wish was granted by Judge Sharon Marchman, and the princess had officially claimed her king.

That sheet of paper with signatures meant nothing to the princess, though. Princess Sarah knew in her heart what no birth certificate or legal document could define any clearer – King Randall was her “always and ever Daddy,” as she says.

After three and a half long years, the princess had finally crowned her king, and the king and his daughter plan to live happily ever after.

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Blog, Children, Daughters, Family, Husband, Life, Marriage, Parent, Raising children, Raising girls, Relationships, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Once upon a time…

  1. Leisa says:

    And the King’s Mother is living happily as well! In this I have gained a daughter and 2 granddaughters that I dearly love!

Leave a Reply

