My business = none of yours

My job is a blessing.

My new boss said to me recently, “I don’t care if you do your work at 4 a.m. standing on your head on Desiard Street as long as it’s getting done and your outcomes are good.” That means when the kids have something to do at school or there’s a doctor’s appointment, lunch with a friend or a reason to go to the bank/post office/store, I can feel okay about being away from my desk during that time.

But don’t be fooled. It doesn’t mean I have a free pass to slack.

Several times lately people have said things like, “must be nice” or “I wish I had it easy like you do.” Yes, I come and go from the office. I never miss the smallest thing that happens at
the girls’ school. I take them to doctors’ appointments, haircuts and whatever else comes along, and I’ve been known to leave a little early in the summer so my Scentsy deliveries don’t sit in the heat too long.

I am clearly fortunate to have this job, but let’s get one thing straight – I did not get here by simply being lucky.

Since I was in the eighth grade, I have had no less than a part-time job, and I had two jobs my senior year in high school. I paid for my B.A. (which I earned in just over two years) with scholarships and student loans, and did not continuously look to my parents to pay my way. I worked during college and barely had a week off after graduation to move to another state, unpack, get settled and find my way around before starting my first “real” job.

I have spent many years working long days slaving over marketing campaigns, RFPs, editing, commercials, press releases, special events, strategic plans and advertising and spent a couple of years overseeing nearly 200 people, making rounds at all hours of the day and night, managing employee/patient/physician/visitor complaints, firing people I knew needed the job but couldn’t meet the standards, etc.

And somehow in all that chaos, I managed to earn two masters degrees.

When the sale of the hospital where I worked was taking place in 2005, there were many times I left at midnight and was back in the office by 5 a.m. We held employee meetings in the middle of the night and had insane deadlines that kept me at the office for nearly 24 hours straight a couple of times.

Somehow I made it through the sale and was blessed to still have a job.

Working for my current employer has blessed me with the chance to focus on my work without the fever-pitch stress levels I once had; and thankfully so since two kids and a husband have come along! I can’t imagine keeping up the old schedule and trying to interact with my family on any type of meaningful level. And in case you’re wondering, yes – I totally understand how remarkable it is to have a boss who doesn’t care if I’m at my desk eight solid hours a day as long as the work gets done.

But that wonderful opportunity is a new turn of events.

I have put in more than my fair share of time at the office when I had a million other things I’d rather be doing. So if there are times when you think I’m living at the corner of Do Nothing Avenue and Easy Street, please think again. I have been working for nearly 24 years, and I am good enough at my job to accomplish more in a day than most people accomplish in a week.

I am extraordinarily thankful for the life I have, but I didn’t get it by being lucky. I worked my rear off to get here, and I am going to enjoy every blessedly wonderful moment.

I am blessed. I am loved. I am thankful.

And I’m thinking if the people who are jealous of how I live my Life would spend more time examining their lives, they might have a few more lovely blessings of their own for which to be thankful.

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Career, Life, Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My business = none of yours

  1. linasouid says:

    Hi, I’ve given your blog the Liebster Blog Award! Please come check it out at: http://linasouid.wordpress.com/2011/10/25/liebster-blog-award/

Leave a Reply

