Not your typical giving of thanks

We’re all thankful for something, even if it’s just the fact that we’re alive.

If you’re not thankful for anything, open your eyes. Greet the world. Inhale the big ole buncha awesome that is this crazy Earth. Despite how it seems sometimes, there are plenty of things for which we can be truly, heartfeltishly thankful.

I am thankful for the ability to make up words like “heartfeltishly” and the confidence and lack of concern to use them in a sentence without regard to how they must surely make some people wince.

I am thankful for leaves that need to be raked, a house that needs to be cleaned and dirty dishes in the sink. They mean I have a yard where my children can play, a roof over my head and food in my body.

I am thankful for people who challenge me, even when it becomes annoying. They keep Life and work from being boring.

I am thankful for negative people. They magnify my feelings of joy exponentially because I don’t allow them to sap me of all energy and spirit. When I’m around them, I am keenly aware of how sharply different my own feelings are, and it makes me even happier when I realize I am not wasting my time with gloom and doom. There was a time when I did. I fed into the negativity, just as it is so easy to do. But my thankfulness, blessings and love-filled Life trump negativity any day.

I am thankful for the ability to forgive myself when I do fall into the negativity trap. Life kicks you in the face sometimes. I’m not going to pretend that’s okay. How I overcome is what’s important.

I am thankful for a daughter who reminds me that the world is not a one-dimensional place. She sees things in dimensions most people can’t comprehend and keeps us on our creative toes. Someone recently said that Sarah “is going to change the world some day if someone doesn’t come along and squash her creativity.” She is being raised in a squash-free zone. Potential killjoys, beware. I will ruin you if you get in that child’s way.

I am thankful for a daughter who is a comedian and makes my heart laugh and breathe in all new ways. Aubrey is my heart’s pick-me-up when Life starts the aforementioned face kicking. She is a kiss-fueled giggle box who thinks she is a monkey/acrobat/cliff diver. Her heart is prominently displayed on her sleeve, and it gets dinged now and then, but she picks herself up and barrels through the next challege. There is no telling what trails that child will blaze some day.

I’m thankful for a husband who is thankful for me, who appreciates my quirks, who doesn’t disappear into the woods during hunting season, who thinks I’m funny and who makes my Life wonderful in so many ways. Randall isn’t perfect, and thank goodness. If he were, he surely wouldn’t be with me. Of course he isn’t perfect. No one is. But he is perfect for me.

I am thankful for Facebook. It has reconnected me with people from high school. I meet new Scentsy clients on a fairly regular basis. I get to share pictures of Sarah and Aubrey with family. It has games I can play when I’m bored. Yes, it changes every five seconds to some new, incomprehensibly jumbled format, but so does Life, so I get over it.

I am thankful for loving, generous neighbors on the left who make me forget what a self-centered jerkface the guy on the right is.

I am thankful for Scentsy. It not only warms, enlivens and inspires my home, but it helps support my family to a fairly significant degree. What a joy to work for a company that is so generous, authentic and simple. I LOVE SCENTSY!

I am thankful for friends. Not everyone can say they have real friends. I do. They are not associates or passing acquaintances. They are my friends. If you aren’t clear on what the difference is, then you have not truly experienced friendship. 

I am thankful to have grown up in a house with high expectations and low tolerances. I am thankful I had a curfew, even if I wasn’t thankful at the time. I am thankful I was raised with hugs and understanding tempered with realism and lessons. I am thankful my parents are also my friends. They probably have no idea that I look forward to seeing them just as much as they look forward to seeing Sarah and Aubrey.

I am thankful for a property line-riding tree that is about to fall. It has given me a preview of what to expect from the self-centered jerkface. I’m glad to go into homeownership with open eyes and low expectations for that relationship.

I am thankful for crackers with sea salt. Yum.

I am thankful for a car that gets me where I need to go and provides ample space for my family. I am not happy about the amount I spend on gas each week, but my lack of joy in that area is offset by the comfort and security of cruising through town in a land ark.

I am thankful for the mailman. He brings my mail to me. What a nice service. I would never go to the post office if it were up to me to pick up my own mail. Thankfully, I don’t have to.

I am thankful for the ability to cook. It makes my family and friends happy, and it’s part of the joy I can share with the world.

I’m thankful for many things. This list doesn’t really even scratch the surface. I could go on for days about Adele, Janis Joplin, Icees, my new Razr phone, crawfish, cooler weather, Black Friday deals, my favorite pants and more. But I’ll stop here. I’m full of joy and thanks throughout the year, not just on the nationally sanctioned day of thanks.

What is it in Life that makes you smile and brings a small amount of joy to an otherwise mundane existence? For what are you thankful?

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Daughters, Family, Friends, Husband, Life, Neighbor, Scentsy, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

