Too blessed to be stressed

There are days I want to build a 10-foot fence around our property and never leave our cozy little acre. I want to shelter my kids from everything/person/event in Life that might seek to harm them in some small way. I want to block out the corporate, work-a-day world and somehow make money sitting at my laptop typing out my thoughts.

But then I wake up and realize the world is still revolving and moving and changing just as it always has regardless of what I think or want. And the only way for me to engage this wacky world and move through it with any amount of progress and grace is to step outside my private little acre and face everything head on.

So here goes. Consider yourself tackled for today, Life.

I AM BLESSED.
Those children I want to protect were never supposed to exist (if you take the word of the doctors who said I should “give up and adopt”). Yet here they are. They are precious, wonderful, beautiful, charming, intelligent, sensitive, giggly, fabulous Earth angels who make my Life worth living.

The roof over our heads is the same one that sheltered my grandparents for many decades. What a blessing to be able to share this neighborhood, this home, this big yard and all the other wonderful things about living on Mauldin Drive with our two little girls.

I AM LOVED.
My husband loves me no matter what I look like or what mistakes I have made or continue to make.

My mother-in-law always tells me she loves me when she hugs me. I have a mother-in-law who loves me. Go ahead. Repeat it to yourself so the reality will sink in. My. Mother-in-law. Says. She. Loves. Me. It’s true. And I love her, too. What a blessing to be loved by the person who the world tells you is supposed to be a thorn in your side. Not this lady! Leisa Mixon isn’t a side-piercing thorn. She is a jewel in my family crown.

I AM THANKFUL.
My husband has all four of his grandparents. If that’s not something for which to be thankful, I don’t know what is. All four of my grandparents have been gone for a while. Mom’s father died when I was about Sarah’s age. Mom’s mother died when I was 15. Dad’s parents both died within six months of each other in 2008. I am so thankful my husband still has all his grandparents and that the girls and I can know them and share the family love with an older generation who has seen the evolution of our families from a whole different perspective.

The Christmas season is finally here! I am thankful for a God who sent his Son, for the energizing feeling of the holidays, for a daughter who counts spending time with her family as one of her favorite parts of December 25, for Christmas music on 98.3 and for a beautiful nativity scene that takes my breath away no matter how many times I pass it each day. Oh, and I can’t forget how thankful I am to have a husband who shares my excitement, overlooks my crazy addiction to Christmas decorating and continues to be as dazzled as I am by the memories we make with our girls on Christmas morning.

Sorry, Life. I couldn’t let you beat me today, no matter how much I would like to shrink from your glare sometimes. You are hereby officially put on notice: Rebecca Mixon is blessed, loved, thankful, awake, alive and ready.

Bring it.

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Blog, Children, Daughters, Family, Husband, Life, Parent, Seasons, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Too blessed to be stressed

  1. Good for you!
    I really enjoyed this post. Love it when people can look at their lives, and see all the beautiful things, and ACKNOWLEDGE them.

Leave a Reply

