Mostly resolved

My making-New-Year’s-resolutions making days passed a long time ago. I suppose at some point I just figured if I wanted to make a change or pursue a goal, there was no reason I couldn’t kick off the effort on any of the other 364 days.

But since I haven’t actively worked toward any New Year’s resolutionish goals in the last few years, maybe now is a good time to revisit the tradition. So here are a few resolutions I am considering. Note that they’re only being considered. I’m not making any promises. We’ll see how it goes.

1. By the end of 2012, I will finish my cookbook.

2. I will get a new refrigerator, cooktop and bedroom furniture. The resolution part of this is not that it happens but that we can get our finances to a point where we can afford all three.

3. A new blog will be posted at least once a week.

4. Next summer, I will make enough salsa and jelly to fill at least one shelf in our pantry. I will not let the canning season pass without making this happen.

That’s plenty. Any more than that and I will be accepting defeat before I ever get started. There’s nothing unrealistic on this list. There aren’t any overused resolutions to lose weight, exercise, grow my hair, find a hobby or learn a skill. I just have to remind myself of that along the path from January 1 to December 31 and beyond.

Are you making resolutions? What are they? Can you start working on mine?!

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Blog, Cooking, fun, New Year's resolutions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mostly resolved

  1. Leisa says:

    Okay… #1. Yeah on doing a weekly blog update (okay, I know you are busy, busy and will try). When I come home from work that is one of the first things I check. They are beautiful posts and I love you sharing your thoughts. #2. You left off Scentsy! You rock girl!! Love you!

  2. Amia says:

    I am thinking of making one to myself this year actually. To draw something at least a doodle every week or even just to work on an exisiting art work. I would love it if you would finish your cook book. Your food was to do die for. Mmmm. Of course then I will never loose the rest of this weight. lol

Leave a Reply

