Mark my words…

One day I will make my living writing what I want to write when I want to write it. 

I don’t know if that glorious day will come because of my cookbook, my blog or my determination to not have to go to an office each day, but it will come. I am not above mass texting, tweeting, Facebook messaging, pestering publishing companies into submission or whatever other forms of self-promotion it takes.

I will make it happen.

Since the minute I could pick up a pen, I’ve been writing. I remember drawing random, made-up symbols on the page and telling myself I had written a story. I wrote short stories in elementary school and went on years later to earn my bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in journalism.

Of course, that doesn’t mean I have talent.

There are plenty of people who have a degree in journalism or have written things that were published. Many of those people are quite talented and bring great joy to their readers, but there are also people who call themselves writers but can barely write well enough to leave someone a note.

Bitter much? Maybe. I really can’t point a finger at those people who are making it in the writing world when I’m not. They had the nerve to put themselves out there and pursue their dream, and I am still treading water. Good for them for being willing to take a chance.

Me? I’m working on it. I’ve created a second blog at TheFearlessCook.wordpress.com so I can start promoting the concept and maybe pin a few things to pinterest.com. Shameless self-promotion has to begin somewhere!

If you are a reader of this blog, you can start watching later this week for posts to pop up on TheFearlessCook.wordpress.com. As always, I will cross-post to Facebook. Feel free to pin anything you like.

Every little bit of exposure means one step closer to yoga pants-clad days for me!

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Blog, Career, Cooking, Dream, Uncategorized, Work, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mark my words…

  1. RACHEL HOPKINS says:

    YOU GO GRIL! I am so behind you on this. You can write, and you do it so well, you always move me when I read your stuff. I only wish I could write 1/8 as good as you an I would be happy. Love u 🙂

Leave a Reply

