Ping

My aching brain is endlessly pinging today, so my blog will be pingfully random. Here goes…

“American Idol” starts next week. Does anyone care?

Yesterday was Aubrey’s first day at school since Friday, December 30. She had tubes (her second set) put in and had her adenoids taken out last Wednesday. Since she was already going to be off three days last week, we let her stay home Monday and Tuesday as well. It did this Mama’s heart good to see her leap into her teacher’s lap and wrap her in a so-glad-to-be-back hug (and to know that her teacher was equally glad to see her!). Her classmates hugged and kissed her and kept saying, “Aubrey! Aubrey!” I’m so glad to know my baby has people other than family who care so much about her!

By the time I made it to the cafeteria to get lunch yesterday, the sandwich line was out of sautéed mushrooms. The guy working the line threw on a second piece of provolone, but it wasn’t the same! * pout *

Cake pops are easy to make and hard to decorate. I can’t get them to stay in one spot on the stick. I put them back in the refrigerator to chill a little longer and am going to give it another whirl tonight. Hopefully, they will cooperate. I really want this to work!

I’m feeling picturey. Who will join me in an afternoon outing some day soon?

The aforementioned sandwich eventually made me nauseous. I think my stomach was rebelling against the lack of sautéed mushrooms.

Today is Mom’s birthday, and tomorrow is Randall’s. Make sure you wish them well. Also, if you could sing “Happy Birthday” to both of them as loudly as possible, I’d consider it a personal favor.

This morning a police car cruised slowly down my street. A minute or so later, another one came by, and the first car cruised by again. They stopped near our driveway and talked for quite a while. One of them drove away, and the other stationed himself at the east side of the circle like he was waiting on something. Is it weird that even though I lead such a vanilla, quiet life, I wondered if they were looking for me?

I’ll be having the greatest chicken salad in all the land for lunch. No, it’s not open for debate. If you want to learn to make it, follow me at http://thefearlesscook.wordpress.com. I talk about this and other luscious little treats with which you can impress your family and friends. No matter how bad a cook you think you are, there are things you can do well. You just have to overcome your fear of the kitchen! I can show you how. Go. Click now. Start learning.

My head hurts. Could it possibly be residual sadness from yesterday’s lack of sautéed mushrooms on my otherwise lovely sandwich?

Is it possible to make money being a professional Pinterest pinner? I would gladly sign up for that job and possibly even work for less than was offered simply because of the pure joy of the work I would be doing.

I am blessed. I am loved. So are you. But are you thankful? That is the key to it all, my friends!

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in American Idol, Blog, Career, Children, Daughters, fun, Husband, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ping

  1. Rachel Hopkins says:

    I will go picturing with you anytime!!! i need to learn how to use my camera and how to take pictures!!! love you

  2. amia says:

    That is the key Becca, to truly be thankful. I am so glad you have such a wonderful blessed vanilla life. I am thankful for so much. Have I ever mentioned how happy I am for you and thankful to know you even if I don’t get to see like I would like to. ^_^

Leave a Reply

