Our little Aubear

Have you ever been around a child who instantaneously steals your soul’s key? Whose face-scrunching, dimpled smile lights up the darkest of Life’s hours. Whose laugh spills joy into every corner of a room. Whose Life force is so vibrant you can’t help but be mesmerized by her every move.

You must have met our Aubrey.

Our little Aubear is our beautiful, funny, tender-hearted little mess. Whether she’s making silly faces, trailing behind Sarah’s every step, talking back to Dora and Diego or just playing quietly by herself, she is so full of Life and love that you can’t help but be drawn to her. Of course, most people would say I’m biased. As they probably should.

I am biased. I am, after all, her mother. What do you expect?

But that bias does not simply come from shared DNA and a blind adoration of my child. It also comes from feedback from her teachers who miss her when she’s not in class and from friends and family who repeatedly say what a sweetheart she is. It comes from seeing our child be such an energy-filled bundle of happiness but knowing when she needs to sit, to be respectful and to follow directions, she will.

Aubrey is nearly two and a half years old. This fact bewilders me on a daily basis. When did that much time pass since she came into our lives? When did that chubby-cheeked toddler become a little kid with her own opinions? How in the world did I let time get away so quickly?

I feel like I hardly got to enjoy her as a baby and a toddler because time whirled by before I knew what was happening!

She is still little. She doesn’t read these blogs. She probably wouldn’t stop long enough to read them even if she could. Her attitude would most likely be “I’ve got too much living to do to stop and read a sappy blog, Mama!”

Oh, Aubrey, if you could read this, I would tell you so many things. Since you can’t, I can only write them here and hope that you get a chance to read them one day.

Dear Aubrey,

Thank you for keeping me on my toes. Thank you for making me laugh and being so tear-stained-face-inducingly adorable. Thank you for sweet kisses, sincere hugs and silly faces.

You are such a loving little sister, and I pray that as you and Sarah get older, you will remain close. You have no idea how much your sister loves you and wishes she could protect you from every moment of harm that might come your way. What she has yet to realize is that you are the type of child who is going to hunt down opportunities to harm yourself and choose to laugh about it later. Sarah is not that kind of person. She will want to guard you from Life’s little pains when all you want is to run free. Be patient with her. Mama Sarah means well.

Don’t just listen. Hear. Understand.

Hold onto your tender heart. Don’t let disappointments harden your beautifully accepting and forgiving soul. You are filled with more gentleness and benevolence than any person I know, and sometimes your softheartedness spills over into brokenheartedness over the smallest of Life’s roadblocks. Let those tears spill when you need them to, baby girl. There’s no shame in honest emotion. Mama and Daddy will always listen and help you put the pieces back together. 

Slow down from time to time. See the world around you. Take it in and don’t run so quickly through it that you miss the important small things along the way. Find beauty in the details, and remember to stop long enough to breathe it all in.

Never stop making silly faces.

Take care of yourself. You have a double whammy of DNA that makes you prone to some negative health outcomes. Don’t let that discourage you. Your health is in your control. Exercise. Eat healthy foods. Understand your body and what you need to stay fit and well. Do all these things and more. The world needs people like you to stick around and continue sharing your love and happiness, so do what you can to live a long, healthy life.

And even if no one else thinks they need you, I can assure you I do. Aubrey Julieanne, you are a big part of why I get up every day and head back out into the world. It’s impossible to remember a time when you weren’t here and unfathomable to imagine a world without you in it. Thank you for coming into our lives, for loving us so unconditionally and for being such an amazing little person.

Sometimes I wish I had a crystal ball to see into the future. What kind of adult will you be? What career will you choose? What type of person will you choose for your spouse? How many crooks and turns will your Life’s path take? Will you have children? What kind of mother will you be? 

For now, I’m okay with not knowing those answers. I am blissfully happy knowing the two-and-a-half-year-old you and enjoying each day as you grow and change.

Just promise me when you get older you won’t think your Mama is completely ridiculous for writing these things about you. Oh, and if you could stay little a while longer that would be great.

Mama loves you, little Aubear. Stay you.

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Aging, Blessings, Blog, Children, Daughters, Family, Life, Parent, Raising girls, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our little Aubear

  1. Karen says:

    YOU MADE ME CRY ON THIS POSTING. WE ALL LOVE HER TOO, THOUGH WE CAN NOT BE AROUND HER THAT MUCH. WE MISS YA’LL. ENJOY THESE MOMENTS CAUSE THEY WILL GONE IN A BLINK OF AN EYE, HARD TO BELIEVE MY BABY WILL BE 15 YRS. OLD NEXT WEEK-END AND CAN YOU BELIEVE HE PREACHED ANOTHER SERMON LAST NIGHT? AWESOME!! LOVE YA’LL.

Leave a Reply

