Roll with it.

Some things in Life should never require flexibility, such as protection of my family, holding fast to my beliefs and maintaining a strong foundation to our marriage.

The rest is pretty much negotiable.

Flexibility is the fuel of life. Without it, we mire ourselves in overly rigid rules and lofty ideas of a perfect world which, in reality, we cannot control (even though we would all surely like to, at least on some level). 

So why do we insist on getting our way all the time? Is there no common ground of compromise that allows us to win and to bestow a win upon someone else as well? We aren’t perfect. Why do we assume our ideas and wants are?

Be flexible. It doesn’t hurt. I promise. Be willing to see someone else’s needs and figure out how you can both achieve the best possible outcome. Be okay with giving up a little of what you want to help a project or a request move forward. By giving in a little now and then, you build relationships with people and you get asked to come out and play more often. You establish yourself as a valued, logically minded, fair partner who seeks the best interest of the group and sets aside your personal desires. 

You have your own needs and wants, and they are important. But if you ever want anyone to care about that, you have to be willing to care about others as well.

Everyone’s Life isn’t directed at how they can best serve you. Get over yourself. Loosen up. See the grander picture. Fit in where you can. Hold tightly to the things that matter, and be willing to roll with it on the things that aren’t as important.

Be blessed. Be loved. Be thankful. Roll with the rest.

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Career, Life, Relationships, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

