My So-Called Life

To a much greater degree than many people I know, I adore my Life. But like many people, I sometimes mentally rewind to days gone by when crossroads had to be navigated.

Had I taken a path other than the one I chose at a given moment, where would I be now?

I could’ve been a magazine editor or a nationally revered columnist. Maybe I would’ve been a major player in the advertising world. I might’ve cruised the halls of the White House as the press secretary.

Who knows where I might’ve landed in my career? Maybe I wouldn’t have had the opportunity or talent to be any of those things or maybe I could’ve accomplished even greater feats of journalistic excellence.

I chose to stick close to Ruston to do my internship, and I took a job in healthcare marketing in East Texas when I graduated. I now work in Monroe, La., managing grant development and community benefits programs for a hospital.

It’s not glamorous, but it is worthwhile and rewarding. I have a great deal of flexibility, and I get paid a decent amount of money. Best of all, I actually enjoy what I do. Had I chosen a different path, I might have found myself in a career that did not allow me the happiness, the time with my family or the great work environment I now have.

Maybe I would’ve had kids earlier in Life if I had married the guy I dated in college. We might’ve had a house full of cowboys and cowgirls who would be in middle school and high school now, and I wouldn’t be in my late 30s raising small kids and facing the fact that I will be 52 when my youngest graduates from high school.

Who knows how many kids I could’ve had or what they would’ve been like? I waited until I was 32 to have my first child, and her little sister came along right before I turned 35. The world would certainly be a different place without those two beautiful souls, and as difficult as it was to watch my friends having kids in their 20s and to be without children of my own until much later, I wouldn’t renavigate that path differently. My girls were born exactly how and when they were supposed to be.

It’s called “kairos.” It’s God’s time, not mine. 

That pretty much applies to everything in Life. It’s not in my time. It’s in His. Regardless of what Higher Power propels you through the Universe, you get those gut feelings from time to time that you are meant to barrel down a chosen path. You may not realize why – and you may never truly understand it – but you take off without regard to better judgment and find yourself landing in the midst of yet another of Life’s milestones.

Could I have been rich and famous? Perhaps.

Could I have had kids at a younger age? Maybe.

Could I have navigated this so-called Life of mine any differently to make it better? Certainly not.

This is my Life. In my create-your-own-adventure book of experiences, I have turned all the right pages and been through exactly the plot twists that were meant for me. My story might not be thrilling to everyone, but that’s okay.

It only has to thrill me.

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Aging, Blessings, Career, Children, Community benefit, Daughters, Family, Life, Raising children, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

