I’m still here.

Three months and a handful of days after we last spoke, I’m logging in to let you know I’m still here. So much has happened I don’t know where to start. Join me as my brain pings through the last 90+ days, won’t you?

My sails were greatly deflated by someone I once respected greatly right around the time of my last blog. Due in part to a quite sudden and unexpected mental gut punch from this person, I went through a time during which I didn’t feel like talking much about being blessed, loved and thankful. In fact, I wasted a lot of tears agonizing over the cruel things this person did and said and almost let it ruin many personal joys.

That time has passed.

I will not allow anyone so inconsequential to have such control over my life. I am no longer affiliated with this waste of the world’s otherwise perfectly good oxygen. And even though I have seen this person many times in the ensuing months, somehow I have maintained my dignity and composure each time.

For that, I am thankful (and surprised).

Friday, June 8, a little bundle of sad eyes and ever-wagging tail came to live with us. We named her Piper, and she has brought a lot of laughs (and frustration) to our home. She is a Chiweenie, according to the vet, which means she is part Chihuahua and part Dachsund. Whatever she is, one thing is for sure – her arrival at our home is one of the worst examples of timing in the history of our corner of the world.

As I found myself sitting in the middle of the floor with her for the third time in three hours, I realized at 3 a.m. that this whining puppy was not what was making me nauseous. I thought maybe I was getting sick. Perhaps I had eaten something that didn’t settle well with my stomach.

A few minutes later, I woke up Randall.

“Hey. Wake up. I don’t feel well.” Confused and attempting to come out of a deep sleep, he rolled over and looked at me.

“What?”

“I said, ‘I don’t feel well.’ And I know why…”

I held up the positive pregnancy test for him to see. Stunned, confused silence followed for what seemed like an hour but must surely have only been a handful of seconds.

“I figured if I’m going to be up all night, you should be, too,” I told him.

And that’s pretty much what happened. We were up until 6 a.m. laughing in disbelief and wondering where in our tiny, one-bathroom house we could possibly work in another family member. We finally fell asleep only to be awakened a couple of hours later by the two beautiful Mixon children we already have.

It’s been nearly three months since that night, and we have still not stopped shaking our heads and thinking that if we had only known a third baby was brewing, we wouldn’t have gotten a puppy to train, to spend money on and to somehow incorporate into the family.

However, for these unforeseen turns of events, I feel blessed (but still a little stressed!).

Randall and I celebrated our fourth anniversary on August 2. Jokingly I told him that if he can just make it one more year, he will tie the previous record held by any of my husbands. As awful as that sounds, it is true.

When I think back to the choices and mistakes I have made, the ex-husbands invariably pop to mind. One was a complete loser with no hope of doing anything in this world other than wasting the oxygen that could be used by far better people. The other was a decent guy, but clearly Life had a different path for us than the one we were on.

And thank goodness for that.

Now, I have Randall and two beautiful children and another on the way. Our world isn’t smooth sailing at every turn, but it’s pretty dang awesome by my estimation.

I am loved. What else do I need?

Life has blessed me. I am loved and thankful, and perhaps Life will see fit to give me a little time now and then to blog and share this with you more often. There are so many flowers to give in this world and so little time!

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Children, Daughters, Family, Husband, Life, Parent, Raising children, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

