Our Zoey

January 17, 2013, the world was graced with its first glimpse of Zoey Gabrielle Mixon. Just as with our older daughters, Sarah and Aubrey, the first words I said to her were, “I love you!”

It always seemed like the right thing to say. I spontaneously said it when Sarah was born, but with Aubrey and Zoey, there was a conscious effort to make sure those were the words they heard as they took their first breaths in this world.  We didn’t know who this little person was, what she would look like, what her personality would be or any other detail, but I knew one, unshakable truth – no matter what happened in her life or mine, I would love her until my dying breath and beyond.

Zoey is our blessed little surprise. She is alternately the most chilled-out baby you’ve ever met and the most funky-tempered diva to ever grace this Earth. If she cries, there is a problem. She doesn’t fuss just to hear herself. She doesn’t have to be held all the time to be happy, but she loves to snuggle, to be held closely and to be centered on my chest (and preferably wrapped up in a blanket with me) while she snoozes or just until she decides she has spent enough time staring lovingly at me and is ready to play again.

She is a dedicated fan of food and has earned the nicknames “Chuggie” and “Stay Puft baby.” When she is asleep, she is Aubrey’s twin. When she is awake (and especially when she is doing the eyes-closed scream or the face-breaking smile), she looks like Sarah quite a bit. Other times, she is her own little person, and we have often referred to her as our “hybrid” since we can’t decide which of her sisters she resembles more.

She loves kisses and is a big Sarah fan. She thinks her Daddy is pretty funny, and she is mesmerized by Aubrey any time she is near. She loves snuggles with Mama (especially in the middle of the night – we are frequent “Friends” fans together at around 2 a.m.) and can charm pretty much anyone she meets with her coast-to-coast, room-brightening smile.

Before Zoey was born, many people told us she would be the one who would wait the longest to walk, talk, potty train and pretty much do anything else that was a developmental milestone. Their reasoning was always simple: “She’s the youngest, and everyone will baby her.”

That is simply not the case with Miss Priss. She came into the world smiling, and she frustrates herself with the inability to run after her sisters when they play. She wants to sit up. She tries to crawl when we place her on her stomach. She babbles and then stops to look at you as if to say, “You know what I mean?” or “Isn’t that funny?” She is only four months old, and we are already seeing her progress faster than either of her sisters.

Miss Zoey Gabrielle says, “POO!” to people who thought she would be babied. This child is already making it clear that no one is going to hold her back!

Zoey is not Sarah, Aubrey, me or my husband. She is her own person. We are glad she is here and have many times commented that we have forgotten what our home was like before she came. She is definitely the caboose that our happy little train didn’t know it was missing!

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Children, Daughters, Family, Life, Parent, Raising children, Raising girls, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

