For my girls (and a little bit for me), PART 27

27. What is your favorite part of your body and why?

Your Daddy is probably rolling his eyes as he reads this question. He is surely thinking, “Getting her to pick a part of her body that she likes is impossible!”

He’s right. I’m notoriously negative about my body, but that is no one’s fault but my own. I wasted the one body I was given to get me through Life by loving food more than I loved myself. It’s not too late to change that, of course, but no amount of refocusing my energies on weight loss and fitness will make up for the fact that I didn’t take care of myself all along. No matter what I do at this stage, I will never have that big-screen-ready, model-perfect body everyone holds up as the gold standard of beauty.

However, if I absolutely had to pick which part of my body is my favorite, I would say my eyes. They’re brown and plain, but I like to think I speak with them more than I speak with words sometimes. My Grandma and my Mom were blessed with the same brown circles of twinkleyness, and I try to speak as loudly with just a look as those two important ladies in my Life have always done.

Sarah has brown eyes like mine, and she is known for her animated expressions and for reminding us of my Grandma when she cuts her eyes at you a certain way. Aubrey’s eyes are blue and are pretty high on the list of the most comically amusing parts of who she is. Zoey’s eyes appear to be hazel – one day they’re blue and then they’re brown but mostly they’re a beautiful gray. No matter what color they are, though, they light up as brightly as her face-cracking smile when she is amused. All three of my little princesses speak volumes with just their eyes, and they are one small part of what make you each so beautiful.

My makeup has always centered on playing up my eyes. Sometimes it’s a smokey eyeshadow, and other times it’s sky-high lashes. My eyes aren’t particularly sexy or smoldering on their own, but with the right artistic touches, they can transform into the things that take your mind off the imperfection of the rest of me.

These plain, brown dots are windows to a side of me that doesn’t require rock-hard abs or long, silky hair to feel good. My eyes are the one body part that doesn’t need a treadmill or gallons of water to be maintained in a fashion that the world says reflects its idea of what a woman should be.

To top it all off, no matter how old and wrinkled I get, my eyes will always reflect the me that feels like a kid on the inside. And that, my dear daughters, is thankfully something that will keep me feeling young long beyond the point when age dictates otherwise.

About Rebecca Mixon

If you attend my funeral, please wear red. Make sure my loved ones do not bury me in shoes, and make sure they don't let the undertaker make me look ridiculous. I want beautiful music and lots of storytelling. All that will be great once I'm gone from this Earth. But, while I'm here, give me my flowers while I live. It has come to my attention lately that we don't "give people their flowers" until it's too late for them to enjoy the beauty, the colors, the sentiment. I'm changing that. The people in my life will know how they are appreciated and loved, and they will smell the aroma of their flowers as often as I get the chance to tell them. This blog is about the blessings in my life. Mainly, it's about the people who keep my world spinning on a good axis and help me realize that work, bills and stress mean nothing. Family counts. The rest is just gravy.
This entry was posted in Aging, Blessings, Blog, Children, Daughters, Husband, Raising children, Raising girls, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

